Head of Department

Christophe Serra

Pr. Christophe Serra,

In 2009 he took the head of the Group for the Intensification and Integration of Polymer Processes (G2IP) within the Laboratory of Polymer Engineering for High Technologies (LIPHT) and then within the Institute of Chemistry and Processes for Energy, Environment and Health (ICPEES). In 2010 he was appointed Full Professor at the University of Strasbourg. In 2015 he moved to Charles Sadron Institute (ICS) to join the group of Precision Macromolecular Chemistry. In 2023 he was promoted Distinguished Professor and took the head of the ICS group on Polymer Engineering and Process Intensification (IP², 6 scientists).

Since 2019, he has been involved in teaching at UFAZ and has been working since 2020 as the co-program manager of a two-year master’s program in Physical Chemistry and Chemical engineering at UFAZ in Baku, Azerbaijan. In 2022, he took the scientific coordination of UFAZ research in Chemistry, Chemical Engineering and Materials Science.

Local Head Coordinator


Dr. Maxime Florent,

Associate Professor at the French-Azerbaijan University (UFAZ) in Baku. Following the completion of his Ph.D., he was hired as a Coordinator at UFAZ, subsequently being recruited as an Associate Professor. His research focuses on Coordination Polymers formation using microfluidic systems. This work is aimed at advancing material science and contributing to various applications in the field.

Local Coordinator


Dr. Dunya Babanly,

Associate professor at the chemistry department of UFAZ. She has more than 15 years’ experience in the field of Inorganic Materials Science.

Dr. Dunya Babanly has been a faculty member of French-Azerbaijani University (UFAZ) teaching chemistry since 2016. She was appointed associate professor at UFAZ in 2020. At the same time, Dr. Dunya Babanly is a senior researcher at the Institute of Catalysis and Inorganic Chemistry (ICIC) of the Ministry of Science and Education of Republic of Azerbaijan. Dunya Babanlı is the chairman of the 2307.01 Physical Chemistry Scientific Seminar operating within the ED 2.16 Dissertation Council at Baku State University.

PhD Students

Narinj Taghiyeva, 3rd Year
Leyla Alieva, 2nd Year

Master Students